Anyone think CBT therapy works?

During a difficult period in my life shortly after my 84 year old mother died, I volunteered for CBT therapy. I trained as a psychotherapist but didn’t take my final exams because of reasons I won’t bore you with. I already knew about the deep breathing techniques and used them when I had a panic attack. Apparently panic attacks are more likely to happen in the morning when our bodies use adrenaline to let us know it’s time to wake up. I went for CBT therapy for a few weeks and found it a bit daft to be honest. What I did gain from it was to put my worries in a suitcase to deal with for only 15 minutes a day and then send the suitcase down the river. This helped me enormously. I plucked up the courage to ask my therapist how old she was and when she qualified. She, like myself, hadn’t qualified and was a student. So was that the blind leading the blind!

Anyone out there have experience of CBT therapy you are willing to share?

Leave a comment